Question About CPU/Core Temperature Sensors

Ratzu

Hello, I'm new to tweaking and modifying computers, and I'm planning to overclock my 2.00GHz Dual Core Intel CPU. So I installed the trial version of AIDA64 to find out what temperature my CPU is running at, and found out that there are three sensors for the CPU. The temperature/description for these were:

• CPU: 44C
  • CPU#1 / Core #1: 62C
  • CPU#1 / Core #2: 62C

I read that CPU temperature should not exceed 60C, and I'm not sure if it is the CPU sensor that I should keep an eye on or if it's the cores, that already exceed 60C without even being overclocked.

Please clarify my doubt about this and if possible, advise me on how many MHz I could overclock without frying my processor, it runs at a stock voltage of 1.325. Thanks.

Hello, I'm new to tweaking and modifying computers, and I'm planning to overclock my 2.00GHz Dual Core Intel CPU. So I installed the trial version of AIDA64 to find out what temperature my CPU is running at, and found out that there are three sensors for the CPU. The temperature/description for these were:

• CPU: 44C
  • CPU#1 / Core #1: 62C
  • CPU#1 / Core #2: 62C

I read that CPU temperature should not exceed 60C, and I'm not sure if it is the CPU sensor that I should keep an eye on or if it's the cores, that already exceed 60C without even being overclocked.

Please clarify my doubt about this and if possible, advise me on how many MHz I could overclock without frying my processor, it runs at a stock voltage of 1.325. Thanks.

Which CPU is it?

What is your CPU cooler?

If the temperatures you posted are idle temperatures, you probably will need better CPU cooling in order to get any significant overclock.

Which CPU is it?

What is your CPU cooler?

If the temperatures you posted are idle temperatures, you probably will need better CPU cooling in order to get any significant overclock.

My CPU is an Intel Pentium E2180 2.00GHz